Getting LEED Certified

How Does LEED Certification Work?

The LEED rating system was created by the USGBC and provides third-party verification that a building or community was designed and built using environmentally sound strategies which increase performance, reduce waste, and improve quality of life.

Every item listed on the rating system checklist is counted as a credit. Credits are grouped into six major categories: Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy & Atmosphere, Materials & Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality, and Innovation in Design & Regionalization. All the credits in these categories are worth a certain number of points. For every item used in a LEED-registered project, the building will earn the corresponding number of points for that credit. The greater the number of points, the more chances the building has of qualifying for LEED Certification. Because of this point range, there are different levels of LEED Certification.

Projects that earn 40-49 points become LEED Certified, 50-59 points earn LEED Silver, 60-79 points earn LEED Gold, and 80+ points earn LEED Platinum certification.


Need more information on the path to becoming LEED certified?

Click Here for Professional LEED Help!


About the author: Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.